Scenic Rim Election 2020

Cr Virginia West
Cr Virginia West

Results released for Division 2, 3, 4 and 5. Mayor and Division 1 result still to come.

The Electoral Commission of Queensland has released results for Divisions 2, 3, 4 and 5 in the local government elections.

Results for the Mayoral candidates and Division 1 are expected to be released following the counting of preferences.

Cafe Metz

Division 2

Jeff McConnell was elected as Division 2 Councillor.

Keer Moriarty and Jeff McConnell. Photo courtesy: Tamborine Bulletin (taken prior to social distancing protocols).

Keer Moriarty congratulated Jeff on his election, saying the campaign had been a positive experience for both candidates.

“I know Jeff will do a great job representing the residents in Division 2 and I congratulate him on the election result,” said Keer.

Jeff said he is honoured to have been elected to represent the people of Division 2 and is looking forward to forging stronger relationships with people in the community through increased community engagement.

“I want people to feel they can come to me with any Council related issues,” said Jeff.

“I will continue to work with Keer in her role at The Canungra Times and Kerri Cryer of the Tamborine Bulletin and also want to establish community forums for Gleneagle and Veresdale residents, to ensure that Division 2 residents have great communication from their Councillor,” he said, “This is an essential part of my role.”

“I am looking forward to making a positive contribution in my role as Division 2 Councillor and working with the other elected officials to guide the Scenic Rim through the recovery from the current COVID-19 crisis.”

Both Jeff and Keer said the campaign had been an enjoyable experience because of the real friendship they had forged during the campaign.

“For both of us it has always been about the community,” said Jeff, “We both wanted good representation for the Division and have said all the way through the campaign that whichever of us was elected it would be a win for Division 2.”

Division 3

Incumbent Councillor Virginia West has been re-elected.

“It is a great honour and a privilege to represent the residents of Division 3 once again,” said Virginia, “As a community we are in uncertain times, but be assured that together we will get through this.”

“I want to thank Janine Healy for the very respectful and friendly campaign that she ran and I extend my best wishes to her,” she said.

Division 4

Incumbent Councillor Michael Enright has been re-elected.

Division 5

Marshall Chalk was elected as Division 5 Councillor.

Division 6

Duncan McInnes was unopposed in this Division.

About Keer Moriarty 299 Articles
A passionate supporter of small communities and local news, Keer is one of the partners behind Scenic Rim Media - the company that owns Canungra Times, Beaudesert Bulletin and Tamborine Mountain News.