All round sportsperson takes 2022 title

James Dougherty. Photo by Katherine O'Brien.

Versatile soccer and cricket player, James Dougherty, was the recipient of the prestigious Sportsperson of the Year Award for 2022.

James is a very versatile and talented player of both soccer and cricket, and is a well recognised all round sportsperson.

He was part of the Grand Final U12 winning team in 2021, with most of these team members going on to compete in the 2022 season. 

Cafe Metz

2022 Sportsperson of the Year Coordinator, Bren Dalby said James is amazing to watch on the soccer field.

“A more skilled and considerate player of his age is hard to find.”

With his 2022 team James received the Supporters’ Choice trophy and scored the second highest number of goals scored for the competition. 

He was also awarded the Canungra Owls Soccer Club Player of the Year.

James plays cricket for Tamborine Mountain Cricket Club where he received the Player of the Season award as well as taking the most wickets for U12s. 

The Sportsperson of the Year Award is selected from monthly winners.  The monthly winers for 2022 were:

  • Ray Hickson
  • Lincoln Mahony
  • Van Lack
  • Harvey Mahony 
  • Bentley Mahony
  • Angus Corcoran 
  • Kelly Street
  • Peter Broom
  • Cameron Mansfield
  • Canungra Owls Soccer Club Men’s Team
  • Sarah Hall

Nominations for 2023 Awards

The Moriarty Park Sportsperson of the Year Awards has a new coordinator with Steve Moriarty taking over the role from Bren Dalby.

Steve is seeking nominations for Moriarty Park Sportsperson of the Year Awards 2023.

At the recent 2022 Sportsperson of the Year presentation, Steve acknowledged and thanked Bren for her commitment and dedication to keeping the awards going. 

He also paid tribute to the Canungra Foodworks owners for generously sponsoring the awards since 2008. 

Scenic Rim Sports store in Beaudesert have kindly agreed to sponsor the awards in 2023.

The awards have been running since 2002, when the Canungra Owls Under 10 Soccer team were named the inaugural winners. 

Since then, there has been a number of notable winners including world champion hang-gliding pilot, Jonny Durand. 

All winners’ names are added to the honour board inside Moriarty Park Hall.

The Moriarty Park Sportsperson of the Year Awards are open to anyone who resides in the 4275 postcode area or plays for a team based in the area. 

Nominations, including a digital photograph of the nominee and a brief outline of their achievements, can be forwarded to Steve Moriarty at or contact Steve on 0407 130 092.

About Keer Moriarty 296 Articles
Editor, journo, social media manager and tea lady with Canungra Times.