Steve Moriarty will be new Councillor for Canungra

Steve Moriarty
Steve Moriarty

Steve Moriarty has secured the Division Three Councillor position for Scenic Rim, unopposed in the local government election when nominations closed.

Steve, who lost the 2016 election to Virginia West by less then 100 votes, said he was surprised when no one nominated to run against him.

“Outgoing councillor, Virginia West rang me over a week ago to tell me she wasn’t going to stand again but I was expecting someone else to put their hand up,” Steve said.

Canungra Law

“To be honest it feels a little surreal as I’ve been preparing my campaign for months now.”

Born and raised in Canungra, Steve and his family are well known in the area for their community service.

The son of local identities Richard ‘Dick’ (dec’d) and Pam Moriarty, comes from a community minded family.

“Mum and Dad were always involved in every committee around town.  I grew up thinking it was the norm to be involved in the community.  In fact, the land on which Moriarty Park now stands was donated to the community by my parents forty years ago.”

Steve is currently the President of the Moriarty Park Community Sporting Centre.

He said he is grateful for the support he has received during his campaign.

“I would also like to acknowledge Cr West who has represented the division for the past 20 years, winning five elections along the way.  Virginia can be well proud of this achievement and I wish her all the best in her future endeavours.”

Steve said he is looking forward to being the new Councillor in Division Three and working with the Mayor and other Councillors who will be elected on March 16.

Steve will begin his appointment as councillor following the election. 

Division Three residents have to vote at the March 16 election for the position of Mayor of Scenic Rim. 

There are three candidates for this position:  Division Two Councillor and Deputy Mayor Jeff McConnell, Tom Shap and Mayor Greg Christensen.

Nominations for all Divisions are:

  • Division 1 – Amanda Hay, Steven Everson (The Greens), Alick Kilsby
  • Division 2 – Nicole Thompson (The Greens), Kerri Cryer
  • Division 3 – Steve Moriarty
  • Division 4 – Jennifer Sanders, Ken Chancellor
  • Division 5 – Leanne Bartrim, Marshall Chalk
  • Division 6 – Elissa Smith, Duncan McInnes, Stephen Pace

For more information about the election visit the Electoral Commission of Queensland website

About Keer Moriarty 290 Articles
Editor, journo, social media manager and tea lady with Canungra Times.