Where to vote, when to vote


As Queenslanders prepare to go to the polls for the Local Government elections on March 16, there are many options for voting across the State.


Division Three has been decided, with incumbent Councillor Virginia West retiring from local politics and Steve Moriarty standing unopposed.

Ray White Canungra

In Division Two, Tamborine Bulletin Editor Kerri Cryer will run against Greens candidate Nicole Thompson.

The Mayoral race has three candidates:

  • incumbent Mayor Greg Christensen;
  • current Deputy Mayor and Division Two Councillor Jeff McConnell;
  • Beechmont resident Tom Sharp who contested the Mayoral position at the last two local government elections. 

Early voting

Anyone can vote early.  This will be available at around 170 locations across Queensland between Monday, March 4, and Friday, March 15, 2024, not including the weekend.

Early voting is available in Beaudesert at 6 William Street from 9am to 5pm, except for the final day of early voting, Friday March 15, where the opening hours are 9am to 6pm.

Remember to bring your maroon voter information card with you for quicker voting.

Postal voting

Postal vote applications opened on January 29 and will close at 7pm on Monday March 4, 2024.

Anyone can apply to postal vote.  If you are registered as a postal voter or live in a full postal council area, your postal voting materials will be automatically sent to you. 

Postal votes must be completed by 6pm on election day, and the ECQ must receive it by Tuesday, March 26, 2024 for it to be counted.

To apply for a postal vote, visit https://www.ecq.qld.gov.au/how-to-vote/how-to-cast-your-vote/postal-voting

Election day – Saturday March 16

Polling booths open from 8am to 6pm on election day at:

  • Beechmont State School, 
    1922 Beechmont Road, Beechmont.
  • Canungra State School, 
    5-9 Christie Street, Canungra.
About Keer Moriarty 277 Articles
Editor, journo, social media manager and tea lady with Canungra Times.